Solving Sync Issues Error 80004005-501-4B9-560 in Exchange 2010 RTM and SP1


This blog has moved to its permanent URL – http://ilantz.com

To view this post, please visit – http://ilantz.com/2011/09/20/solving-sync-issues-error-80004005-501-4b9-560-in-exchange-2010-rtm-and-sp1/

About ilantz

I am a technology enthusiastic, I've been working as an IT consultant since late 2007, I attained extensive experience with Microsoft's Exchange Server, Active Directory, Forefront products and the Windows server platform. I love designing solutions, handling security measures, architecture and advanced troubleshooting.
This entry was posted in Exchange 2003, Exchange 2010, Outlook / MAPI. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Solving Sync Issues Error 80004005-501-4B9-560 in Exchange 2010 RTM and SP1

  1. Louise says:

    This sounds exactly like my problem! I will try your suggestions this weekend (hopefully) and will report back. Thanks for the info — I have confidence this addresses my problem.

  2. Louise says:

    I followed the instructions to remove the non-existent replica, but I’m still getting sync errors whenever Outlook is opened. Can I use this tool (MFCMapi) to delete the Organizational Forms? I believe I added the Org Forms years ago while we were on 2003 because I was playing with Outlook form designs. We are not actually using any forms. Your thoughts are appreciated. 🙂

    • Louise says:

      Oh — I answered my own question. Prior to using the MFCMapi tool, I was unable to delete the Org Forms using the EMC. Having removed the invalid replica I was then able to delete the forms. I suspect problem is solved! Thank you!

      • ilantz says:

        Happy to hear that Louise !
        Would appreciate your confirmation that the issue was indeed solved.
        ilantz

  3. Dan says:

    Is there any way to re-populate the information that was cleared? This resolved our issue with the sync issue errors, however it broke our forms. I was unaware that we used forms in our organization at the time, but someone had developed one over 10 years ago that is apparently still being used .. :-/ … help!

  4. Marc says:

    It is not the solution – it does only remove Replica from the EFORMS Folder and the FORMULARS for applications are not longer aviaible so it is not practicable to do this. My Faxserver doest work after this action so i place replicas back on folder

    • ilantz says:

      Thanks Marc,
      I did wrote that this solution is for organizations that do not use Forms, i will make this statement more BOLD 🙂

      • Trevor says:

        Any suggestions for resolving this if you do use forms?

      • ilantz says:

        Well, my suggestion will be, replicate all public folders, and under system public folders, replicate only the free-busy and offline address book directories.

        Leave the FORMS directory on the 2003 until you will decide to decommission it. that is when you will run the “move all replicas” command.

        ilantz

  5. Matt says:

    Thanks for this post ilantz. I reproduced this sync issue in my lab and fixed it using your suggestion, and then proceeded to resolve this issue in our production environment.

  6. stefan says:

    Wonderful, this was the solution after a long lasting search and much of microsofts postings like “this is not a bug, please ignore the errors !!!!

    And what is more: thousands of people are STILL searching a solution to this problem.

    Isnt there a way to make Your solution public to a wide audience ?

    Well, thank You a thousand times und regards,
    Stefan

    • ilantz says:

      Thank you stefan,
      I’ve posted my solution to the popular threads in the technet forums and my blog,
      feel free to share it on 🙂

      Glad it worked out for you.
      ilantz

Leave a Reply

